Chapter Fourteen Thoughts…

EMAILS, MEMOS, LETTERS, PROPOSALS, AND REPORTS

What I learned:

  • Richard E. Neff says to “write smart, simple, and short” by using the basic guidelines of clarity, completeness, conciseness, correctness, courtesy, and responsibility for all your writing. (page 409)
  • On page 412 of the 5th edition, there are several suggestions on how write the content of your emails. Some of the suggestions include tempering your language, keep material brief, use blind copy distribution, and always respond to emails in a timely manner. There is a text box on page 414, called “Mind Your E-Mail Manners,” that discusses emailing etiquette. Suggestions like, avoid the reply-all button, avoid HTML format and checking your subject line and and sending contacts are all tips they discuss.

What surprised me:

  • (page 409, 5th edition)- -> ” According to The Wall Street Journal, the Institute for the Future estimates that more than 200 messages are sent and received daily by the average office worker in the United States. Among administrative personnel, the figure goes up to 230.”
  • According to Rogen International (a research firm): 4 TRILLION emails are sent out every year, worldwide! There are about 600 MILLION electronic mailboxes!

What I want to know more about:

  • The text talks about the advantages and disadvantages of using your voice mail as a memo system on page 416, in the 5th edition. I personally HATE voice mails, which is why if you ever call my cell, you will note I do not even have my v-mail set up! Not even that nice electronic lady talks to my cell-callers! I know that in time, however, I am going to need a clean, fresh and professional voice mail. I want to know what type of information should I, the “voice” behind the answering machine, give so that potential employers have a good first-voice-impression of me. It may seem like a silly thing to want to know more about, but so often I find myself calling friends and hearing their v-mails and even the ones that are supposed to sound professional, still sound like every other persons message machine. How to I differentiate myself, but still keep it professional? đŸ™‚
~ by lowoodward on April 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
