Twitter in Retrospect

So how was the Twitter experiment, you may ask? Well, my week-long assignment on Twitter turned out to be not-too-shabby after all. I even signed up for the mobile Twitter and was able  to send “tweets” by cell, during the process.

This past week, I learned to properly “tweet”, and even learn a few codes so I could tag my classmates and teacher, or apply a tag to show my “tweets” were for my PRCA3330 class. The simple # or @ before someone’s name or a tag seemed like an easy concept, but what I really want to know is, how everyone remembers the Twitter screen names of their friends to be able to tag them all of the time? For example, if I were to want to tag a friends name in my status update, I may write something to the effect of, “____ and I are making cupcakes!” If I wanted to post that status so that my followers knew I was talking about my friend Liz and I making cupcakes, I would have to know her personal screen name and use the @ sign before it, as the coding to tag her in the status. Like this: @PeachiePie and I are making cupcakes! My point being, they should have some sort of address book by the status to use so all your necessary info is right there ready for you to use. If they already have this feature, and I am just blind, please let me know!

Overall, I feel like if I knew how to work some of the more underlying features of Twitter, not only would it be easier, but it would also encourage me to use it more. I can be a little slow at times when I am trying to insert hyperlink, pictures, or videos, onto knew social sites. Also, it would be nice if Twitter could team up with my Myspace and Facebook’s friends list so that you could find your Myspace/Facebook friends on Twitter. They do this with Yahoo and MSN (I’m pretty sure),  but even though Myspace and Facebook seem like big competition for Twitter, I think more people would “tweet” if they had access to uploading their friends from their other accounts.

I suppose before I sum up completely, I should at least mention something I liked about Twitter, to give a nice even review. I really dig the way that all kinds of media are able to interact with their audiences now, because so many radio stations, news stations, papers and magazines use Twitter to take polls and ask viewer’s opinions. It is entertaining to watch CNN, for instance, and at the end of a segment they may ask an opinion question or set up a poll on Twitter and get instant feedback from people worldwide. It’s truly amazing if you think about it; we are really changing the way the news is found and reported.

My Advertising teacher, Mrs.Mallard (“like a duck”), stressed a point to our class the other day, that my generation ( ’88 baby!)  is demanding instant feedback on everything! We want to be able to have internet in our back pocket, we want fast-food with dual-lanes, we want to instantly upload our Facebook status with a text,  we even order our pizza online because there is a timer to show us exactly when our pie is headed to the oven (check out http://www.dominos.com), and if we want instant boredom relief and educational viewing pleasure, we hit up You Tube.

Finally, I saw Twitter has a great underlying idea but there is still some tweaking (no pun intended) that they need to do to make sure everyone (like myself) is on the same page on how to use the site and also, to think about how to market their site a little different so people (also, like myself)  don’t think it is mostly just a status database.

Hope this was insightful, and if you would like to keep up with me on Twitter, add me at : lowoodward!

~ by lowoodward on February 23, 2010.

6 Responses to “Twitter in Retrospect”

  1. Yes, I agree that Twitter could use a few tweaks here and there to make it more appealing to a wider audience. For one thing, the simplicity of the interface really limits what you can do. Websites that compete with Twitter, such as Facebook, are much more versatile in the ways they can be used. I think this has been the main disadvantage for Twitter. But on the other hand, Twitter’s simplicity is kind of what makes it so great in the first place. Users can send messages or update their status with just a few clicks, and without wading through a bunch of distracting photos and personal items. For now at least, I think Twitter will happily coexist with the other social networking sites.

    • I agree with you for the most part. I find that even though Twitter is more simple, Facebook is just as simple, except you can personalize it more and have the opportunity to make it more “complex” if you want. Twitter just aggravates me because you can only type 140 count “tweet” as your status update- (which seems silly since that is basically the point of the website is to update your status constantly lol.) I’m a woman of many words (as most ladies are haha) and I’m sorry, but 140 ain’t cutting it! I guess I’m just a Twitter-Hater because I find no real need to use it, thanks to the almighty Facebook! lol

  2. […] Twitter in Retrospect by Lauren Woodward:   https://lowoodward.wordpress.com/2010/02/23/twitter-in-retrospect/#comment-4 […]

  3. I had Mrs. Mallard (like the duck :D) for marketing too. And I agree with her- to an extent. Yes, we could all benefit from slowing down and smelling the roses. I think she was the teacher that told me that sending a letter may be better than sending an email, and that calling someone is more beneficial then just sending a text. It’s important to interact with people, not just electronics. It is also important to note that keeping up with technology makes use more effective; especially when it comes to the social media aspect of PR. When it comes to having a phone that has internet and email or being able to use an interface like twitter, it seems necessary to join in, or we risk being left behind.

    • Yea, Professor Mallard (like a duck!) does have some good tips! It is so true though about the technology thing–> it’s great that in this day-and-age, we have much faster ways to connect, stay in touch, and instantly upload our thoughts/opinions/pix/whatever, at the touch of our palm pilots, BUT in the long run, it is changing the way we, as humans communicate. How impersonal is it to receive a text from your loved ones, texting “i luv u,” instead of picking up the phone for 20 seconds or even meeting face to face? And how many times have you seen people duck their heads and emerge themselves with their cell, in a perfectly public place where you could be mingling, but instead they are f-booking or gaming?

      I mean, don’t get me wrong- I love that I can send a quick text to a buddy letting know “hey, be there soon!”- as opposed to calling them up, waiting for an answer, potentially playing phone-tag, and then having to play 20 questions on why I am late, or when I’m coming….ya know?

      Haha- I’m sure you know what I mean! Maybe when things like Skype become JUST AS popular as facebook, and webcams come standard on ALL computers/web-capable-cells, then it will help fill that technology gap that is distancing all of us from the old-school, long-lost, face-to-face communication! :0)

  4. […] Twitter in Retrospect; Lauren […]

Leave a Reply

 
