T.O.W. Week Two- Grammar Girl- “Who vs. Whom”

I read the blog “Who vs. Whom” on Grammar Girl’s website at: http://grammar.quickanddirtytips.com/who-versus-whom.aspx.

1. I learned that….

  • “you use who when you are referring to the subject of a clause and whom when you are referring to the object of a clause. “
  • “Like whom, the pronoun him ends with m. When you’re trying to decide whether to use who or whom, ask yourself if the answer to the question would be he or him. That’s the trick: if you can answer the question being asked with him, then use whom, and it’s easy to remember because they both end with m.” The example she used to explain this was:  ” If you’re trying to ask, “Who (or whom) do you love?” The answer would be “I love him.” Him ends with an m, so you know to use whom.”

2. I was surprised that…

  • Her “he/him” trick would be so helpful. There are times when I can’t remember whether to use who/whom and now I don’t think I will ever forget (fingers crossed!)

3. I want to know more about…

  • Other commonly misused words….such as affect vs. effect, or  Layvs. Lie. Though slightly off topic, (since it came to mind), it would also be nice to have a list of words that don’t go by the ” ‘i’ before ‘e’, except after ‘c’ ” rule. There are only a few of them, but I am always surprised when I think I have a well-written story and I go to spell check, just to see one of those squiggly red lines.
~ by lowoodward on January 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
